About Us

Canadians for Equitable Access to Depression Medication wants all Canadians to have access to all depression medications.

Members of the coalition from across Canada include mental health professionals, doctors, academics and people with lived experience.

National Leadership Team:

Fardous Hosseiny
Interim National Chief Executive Officer, at the Canadian Mental Health Association, National. Fardous completed a Master of Science and a BSc Honours at the University of Toronto. Prior to CMHA, Fardous worked at Renascent, where he focused on data quality, research and performance improvement as well as managed three of their major events. Fardous was also a part of the Canadian delegation to the 73rd Session of the United Nations General Assembly and played a critical role in the development of the first ever United Nations event dedicated to mental health. Fardous is co-chair of the Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health (CAMIMH), a non-profit organization comprised of health care providers as well as organizations which represent individuals with lived experience of mental illness.
Dave Gallson
National Executive Director of the Mood Disorders Society of Canada (MDSC). He has worked in the mental health and disability sector for the last 18 years. Innovation to address service gaps is a key interest. In 2002; he created a seven-week skills development program for persons with mental health issues/ disabilities and led this program to significant project expansion to six cities across Canada over the next seven years. Dave served four years as Co-Chair of the Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health. Dave is on the Board of the Canadian Depression Research and Intervention Network (CDRIN), a pan-Canadian network created in 2013 to address depression, PTSD and suicide.
Brianne Moore
National Chair, who has been living with major depression for most of her young life, has been a strong youth voice for mental health, and received an Inspiration Award from The Royal Ottawa for her advocacy work. This year, Brianne was the recipient of the prestigious Sharon Johnston Mental Health Award from the Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health (CAMIMH) for her impressive work as a longtime mental health advocate, publically speaking to schools across Canada about coping strategies and awareness.

Regional Co-Chairs:

Ann Marie MacDonald
Regional Ontario Co-Chair, is the Executive Director and CEO of the Mood Disorders Association of Ontario. Ann has over 18 years of leadership experience in business including banking, sales, marketing and human resources.
Michael Landsberg
Regional Ontario Co-Chair, is a Canadian sports journalist and former host of Off the Record for TSN. Through his daily blog spot called #SICKNOTWEAK Michael wants to help people understand that mental illness is a sickness, NOT a weakness; to create a community of people who come to gain strength; and to help both sufferers and the people who care about them.
Laureen MacNeil
Regional Alberta Co-Chair, is Executive Director, Calgary region, of the Canadian Mental Health Association, which creates awareness, provides promotion, education and support, and advocates for individuals and families living with mental illness and addictions.
Ron Campbell

Regional Alberta Co-Chair and a person with lived experience. Retired from the RCMP, Ron is a frequent public speaker on stress management in policing, and self-care and prevention of operational stress injuries. His audiences have included the FBI, Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, Canadian Association of Police Governance, Canadian Police College, and many police conferences in both Canada and the U.S.

Phil Upshall
Senior Policy Advisor, Mood Disorders Society of Canada, an advisor for the Mental Health Commission of Canada, and a former executive director of the Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health. Mr. Upshall is also an adjunct professor in the department of psychiatry at Dalhousie University, and a member of a number of expert mental health panels, including those for Statistics Canada, Health Canada and the Canadian Institute for Health Information.

Other coalition members include: